Reducing noise; a question of better lighting or higher number of S/p?

joey

Reducing noise; a question of better lighting or higher number of S/p?

Postby joey » Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:04 am

I'm very new to Reality and have only started working with it a few weeks ago.
The software is great and the user manual extremely well put together and helpful. But even after watching a couple of video guides on YT and browsing forums reduction of noise is the one thing I have problems grasping.
For reference, here's one of the renders I'm currently working on:

Here's a close-up illustrating the severe noise in the picture I'm trying to get rid of.

The scene was set up in Poser with the most recent release of Reality (4.2). I've used IBL (specifically the MonValley Lookout sIBL set from a site Paolo referred to in one of his videos). The scene was then sent to a render farm, therefore I had to set a maximum amount of samples (6000 S/p in this case, rendered at 5000x3200). I've used the Agfacolor Optima 2 200 in the camera settings of Reality because I like the way that film interprets light (and thinking that an ISO of 200 should give me a clear enough picture).
What I'm trying to figure out is, whether I would have to add an additional mesh light (or 2) to the scene to get rid of the noise or if all it takes is another couple thousand samples per pixel. It's hard for me to just test and try different options because I'm running this on my Surface Pro 3, so rendering takes a lot of time. I was hoping one of you might have an idea how to deal with this efficiently.
Secretly I'm hoping that an increased number of samples will fix this, as I'm afraid adding a mesh light to the scene will completely change the look of it.
So what do you think? Does my scene need a mesh light in addition to the IBL (and does IBL usually need additional lights?) or should I just double the amount of samples per pixel to get rid of the remaining noise?