Opacity misbehaviour on DAZ 4.3.1.16203

Can't figure out how to solve an issue? Here is where to ask for help.
Fatbear
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:32 pm

Opacity misbehaviour on DAZ 4.3.1.16203

Postby Fatbear » Mon Feb 13, 2017 10:16 pm

I noticed today that when lowering opacity on DAZ 4.3.1.16203 it lowers very little between each step between 1.0 and 0.5, then between 0.5 and 0.49 there is a huge change, and then again little change between 0.4 and 0.0.

Anybody else has this issue?

User avatar
Marcel2586
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 7:42 am

Re: Opacity misbehaviour on DAZ 4.3.1.16203

Postby Marcel2586 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:49 am

I noticed this also, i think it has something to do with the grayscale.
this would be funny if it weren't happening to me :shock:

Fatbear
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:32 pm

Re: Opacity misbehaviour on DAZ 4.3.1.16203

Postby Fatbear » Tue Feb 14, 2017 11:15 pm

Yes, I guess what we can do is to make a gray texture instead using the opacity button.

Fatbear
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:32 pm

Re: Opacity misbehaviour on DAZ 4.3.1.16203

Postby Fatbear » Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:50 pm

I tried using textures at 10%, 20% etc instead of the built in ones, but unfortunately the result is exactly the same. It is dark from 100% opacity to 50%, then suddenly turns very transparent at 40% and barely changes until 10%

There are a few more options using a texture and then changing the opacity option, but to define grades is a problem, have to try and see.

Fatbear
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:32 pm

Re: Opacity misbehaviour on DAZ 4.3.1.16203

Postby Fatbear » Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:52 pm

No... saddly there arent other options. If you use a 60% map and then lower 1 point it will be the same as using just 50% on the opacity button; lowering 2 points it will be 40% and turns very transparent. So it changes anything.

User avatar
sigstan
Posts: 431
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:59 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Opacity misbehaviour on DAZ 4.3.1.16203

Postby sigstan » Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:56 pm

Hmm, which render mode are we talking here, non-accelerated or accelerated?
/Sigstan

User avatar
sigstan
Posts: 431
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:59 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Opacity misbehaviour on DAZ 4.3.1.16203

Postby sigstan » Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:14 pm

I just did a comparison render in CPU-No acceleration and CPU accelerated. There is a difference as can be seen here (Left bottom 0.1 - Right top 1.0):

Accelerated:
opacity_test_acc.jpg


Non-accelerated:
opacity_test_nacc.jpg

Both ran for about 20 minutes using Bidirectional and Metropolis with same lighting.

In terms of gradual transition I think non-accelerated is the winner, although I agree with your observations.

But let's think about this in another way. Transparency is implemented by Reality as a "Mix" material that mixes the base texture with a null texture. The transparency number or the alpha map decides the blend. Since we are using the "Mix" material we can blend any kind of material, so if you tell me what kind of transparent material are you trying to emulate, then I might be able to give you a suggestion.
/Sigstan

User avatar
Marcel2586
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 7:42 am

Re: Opacity misbehaviour on DAZ 4.3.1.16203

Postby Marcel2586 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 3:58 am

If i use no texture and only the percentage slider. and it makes no difference if it is accelerated or not.
this would be funny if it weren't happening to me :shock:

User avatar
sigstan
Posts: 431
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:59 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Opacity misbehaviour on DAZ 4.3.1.16203

Postby sigstan » Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:08 pm

Marcel2586 wrote:If i use no texture and only the percentage slider. and it makes no difference if it is accelerated or not.

That is exactly what I did in the test renders in my previous reply. As you can see there is a small difference, which is usually always the case between accelerated and non-accelerated. They are after all two different render engines.

But overall I see you and Fatbear's point, which I why I'm asking what is the transparent material we are trying to emulate.
/Sigstan

User avatar
Marcel2586
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 7:42 am

Re: Opacity misbehaviour on DAZ 4.3.1.16203

Postby Marcel2586 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 3:25 pm

When i did my tutorial on glasses with stains and the wooden table top. i used alpha maps on the geometry shells, and there it was sometimes difficult set the transparency in the right amount. Resulting in flipping back to Adobe photoshop to adjust the brightness and contrast. So i thought, it could be my screen that is to bright. But without textures it is also difficult to set it. This absolutely no fault of Reality in my opinion.

15181345_1021839144604796_7370313073247995833_n.jpg

15241741_1030421687079875_3147904952619554345_n.jpg
this would be funny if it weren't happening to me :shock:


Return to “Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests