Cannot add items to scene file

Can't figure out how to solve an issue? Here is where to ask for help.
pruiz
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:27 pm

Cannot add items to scene file

Postby pruiz » Tue Mar 07, 2017 9:41 pm

DAZ Studio 4.9.3.166
- The full version of Reality: 4.2.1.16203.
- The version of LuxRender that I use. 1.3.1.
- No GPU acceleration.
- A screenshot of the Render | Scene Configuration page of Reality see
realitysceneconfig2017-03-07_201837.png
realitysceneconfig2017-03-07_201837.png

below.
- MS 7 64 bit OS.
I can open a Daz studio scene file and the character hair and accessories all show up in 'materials' but when I add mesh lights and studio cubed plus dynamic clothing they do not show up (only IBL) in Materials. No camera shows.

What am I doing wrong?

pruiz
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:27 pm

Re: Cannot add items to scene file

Postby pruiz » Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:05 am

Could the fact that I have a 32 bit version of Daz Studio (not loaded) but on my system be causing this?

pciccone
Site Admin
Posts: 1733
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: Cannot add items to scene file

Postby pciccone » Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:26 am

No, there is no possible interference by just having files on disk.
--
Paolo

pruiz
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:27 pm

Re: Cannot add items to scene file

Postby pruiz » Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:19 pm

So is there something defective with my scene configuration? Is there a problem with my reality version or Luxrender version? If I build a scene from scratch in Studio everything appears but if I open a saved 'scene' the objects, lights etc. that I add do not appear in Reality - and there is no camera?

pciccone
Site Admin
Posts: 1733
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: Cannot add items to scene file

Postby pciccone » Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:58 pm

I'm sorry, I would not know why that happens to your scene.
--
Paolo

User avatar
sigstan
Posts: 431
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:59 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Cannot add items to scene file

Postby sigstan » Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:16 pm

pruiz wrote:So is there something defective with my scene configuration? Is there a problem with my reality version or Luxrender version?

Just noting that latest version of Reality is 4.3.1.16203 and the corresponding Luxrender version is 1.6.0 16132.
/Sigstan

pciccone
Site Admin
Posts: 1733
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: Cannot add items to scene file

Postby pciccone » Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:30 pm

Thank you Niels, I didn't notice that the Reality version was so old. Pruitt, please update by downloading Reality from our site and you should be good to go. Old versions of Reality had some issues like you described, when parts were added to the scene in a certain way.
--
Paolo

pruiz
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:27 pm

Re: Cannot add items to scene file

Postby pruiz » Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:22 pm

I installed 4.3.1.16203 and (presumably, the corresponding Luxrender version is 1.6.0 16132? - does that come with the download from Preta 3D?) and now I can only get an instance of Reality "unconnected" - no materials no lights no camera - nothing. Was I supposed to de-install the old Realty 3D? Is there a set of instructions on how to do this? I am running this on DS 4.9 latest release.

pciccone
Site Admin
Posts: 1733
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: Cannot add items to scene file

Postby pciccone » Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:36 pm

Hi.
Lux comes with Reality. It sounds like you have a mix of files from different versions. Uninstall Reality as explained in our knowledge base/wiki. Look in the support menu of our website. Then reinstall.

Cheers.
--
Paolo

pruiz
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:27 pm

Re: Cannot add items to scene file

Postby pruiz » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:57 pm

Thanks for the help. I had two versions of Studio installed - 4.9 64 bit and 4.9 beta - I de-installed the first version and then uninstalled and reinstalled Reality on the 4.9 beta and all seems to work consistently - except - a nit - the Reality editor button in 'render' is there of course but doesn't have the red emblem? weird?
Paolo Amico, I still have the ever enduring Dynamic hair group fly off issue. Could you give me some hints on how to try to workaround, please? Has no one been successful in rendering dynamic hair without this issue?


Return to “Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests