Doubts and problems with Nvidia GTX 980 Notebook

Can't figure out how to solve an issue? Here is where to ask for help.
Frank

Doubts and problems with Nvidia GTX 980 Notebook

Postby Frank » Sat Aug 19, 2017 8:37 am

Hi to all,
I'm new to Reality, but not at all with Daz Studio and Iray rendering.
I'm having some problem with the settings of Reality

This is my configuration

ASUS-ROG G752VY
WIN 10 Home Vers.1703 64 bit
Build SO 15063.413
INTEL i7-6820HK CPU @ 2.70GHz
RAM 64GB
nVidia GeForce GTX980M 8GB

DAZ Studio 4.9.4.117 Pro Edition 64bit

Reality 4.3.1.16203

Lux Render 1.6.0 Build 16132

First of all in the Scene Configuration tab doesn't appear my Cpu. At first neither the nVidia 980... but after reinstalling the updated drivers now it's visible.
0001 reality.jpg

Second problem: when I choose the OpenCL option I get this error:

[2017-08-19 14:30:35 Severe error: 2] RUNTIME ERROR: Unknown render engine type in RenderEngine::ToProperties(): PATHOCL
0002 reality.jpg

If I turn off the OpenCL the rendering time seems much longer than with the classic Iray (that needs about 10 seconds in the simple scene attached with GF3)
0003 reality.jpg

Where am I wrong?
Thanks in advance for your support.
Francesco

Marcel2586

Re: Doubts and problems with Nvidia GTX 980 Notebook

Postby Marcel2586 » Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:10 pm

You have some problems with your graphic card drivers.
Do first update your drivers and not your game assistant, god knows drivers these days. Then try to do a search for Sigstan on this site, he is a kind of guru about nVidia. I think your problem is discussed somewhere on this forum.
But than, you will grab back to the old luxrender render engine as it is superb, even with the very long render times.
this would be funny if it weren't happening to me :shock:

Frank

Postby Frank » Sun Aug 20, 2017 6:38 am

Thanks for your kind advice @Marcel2586; I'll try to follow them, I'll let you know. Thanks again.

sigstan